Year 3 of My Flowerpot Garden Begins

Well, here we are, roughly two years on since I began planting My Flowerpot Garden.  I am very excited to report that as the new growing season beckons, I have a mixture of plants from last year and new seeds to try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In 2012 I planted: 

Cress, Thyme, Parsley, Chives, Basil, Mint, Rosemary, Rocket, Sage, Hot Chilli Peppers, Strawberries, Carrots and Spring Onions.

On the whole, apart from struggles with the Thyme, Rocket and Rosemary, most of the other seeds grew well.  Obviously, the strawberry plant, having been grown from seed, didn’t yield any actual fruit that year but it established itself authoritatively.

-

In 2013 I planted:

More Cress, Thyme, Basil Minette, Rosemary, Rocket and Spring Onions, as well as Lemon Balm, Garlic Chives, Mustard, Oregano, Coriander, Flat Leaved Parsley, Basil Sweet Genovese, Lavender, Watermelons, Tomatoes, Courgettes, Radishes, Lettuces, Petunias, Pinks, Sweet Peas, Dwarf Sunflowers, and  Coleus.

With more variety came slightly more mixed fortunes.  The herbs all grew well.  The watermelons took over!  The vegetable and salad plants flourished except for the lettuces.  I could not make any headway with those at all.  Was it the extremely hot summer?  Or perhaps I just haven’t got the knack of them yet.  Who knows?  My strawberries began to yield very small but deliciously sweet fruit.  The lavender and the Pinks were not due to flower this year, but they moved through their early stages with strength and determination.  This year it is becoming increasingly apparent that leaves I mistook for being those of Pinks at a slightly different growth stage are in fact those of an interloper among the Pinks!  At the moment we are guessing the stealthy flowers are Wallflowers, but time will tell.  The Sweet Peas were a mystery, luscious leaves appearing but never a single flower.  This year the leaves are bigger and greener than ever.  Perhaps this will be their year to flower?  We’ll see.  The Petunias stole the show, even sporting a few last buds on the eve of the first gale in October of last year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                Here, from previously, I have my crazy Thyme and my recently trimmed Sage, Oregano and Rosemary.

-

So now that I have begun to order and collect new rustly packets of seeds for this year, I’m finding myself feeling very excited about the promise the little foil pouches inside those packets hold.  This week I’ve dilligently started washing up last year’s used flowerpots.  (I know I should have done it before.  Well, I did wash some, but the clean and dirty ones all got muddled up when the greenhouse had to be emptied in a hurry ahead the first of the forecast autumn gales.)  Today (aside from my experiment with planting a date stone – to no avail) I planted my first seeds of the year.  I love how some of the seeds smell of the plants that will hopefully scroll out of them.

DSCF6331

Drumroll!!!!!

So far we have nine pots of potential.  There are watermelon seeds taken from one of my harvested fruits from last year, just to see whether or not they might produce another plant – or should I say triffid?!  Then there is my first attempt at growing Dill.  For the second year in a row I’ve planted some Flat Leaved Parsley and Garlic Chives seeds.  This year I’m trying some Red Leaved Basil – after all, variety in the spice of life, they say, sorry the herb!  Two more firsts for me will hopefully be Mini Sweetcorn and Aubergines, if they grow.  As another experiment I’ve planted a couple of seeds from the pumpkin I hollowed out for Hallowe’en last year.  (If they grow will the previous pumpkin’s grimace prove genetic?!)  And just to jolly things up further, I’ve planted another Dwarf Sunflower seed.  They strike me such happy plants!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Having ordered some other seeds too, I hope that they will arrive soon, but for now I’m just so pleased to have got started with another growing season.  I just hope some of each of the seeds will grow.

 

Have a lovely weekend! :)

2 Comments to “Year 3 of My Flowerpot Garden Begins”

  1. Wow, I’m impressed by how many different items you grow in pots.

    • Thanks! Well, I just like to experiment really. It’s not always possible to have a lot of space or a permanent place to keep plants, but I really wanted to grow my own herbs, especially, and ideally some fruit and veg too. So two years ago I finally had a go and then it snowballed a little bit and I love it. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

