A Chat in the Haberdashery Department

I walked into the haberdashery corner of a small hardware shop,
When a complete stranger came up to me and exclaimed:  “Oh, look, what a lot
Of beautiful colours, those balls of wool!”
 
She told me she would like to buy them all, to admire, but loves to knit;
I replied what fun to fill a shelved wall with lots of wool, just to see it!
She agreed, chuckling.  “Very colourful.”
 
A nice little chat we had after that, as she thumbed through a pattern book;
She discovered a pattern for a hat and beckoned me to take a look,
As she stood by the long wooden counter.
 
Alas, I did feel rude to take my leave when the time came for me to go,
But she had things to do, too, I believe, so that was a relief to know.
A short but sweet, surprising encounter.
2 Comments to “A Chat in the Haberdashery Department”

  1. Such a warm and cozy poem:) Free People (a store here) has a wall full of wool behind their cashier’s desk.. I always thought that is such a pretty sight!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

